Accompanying Image / Photo Example: 

Wyatt Niehaus, Future Solutions, 2012, Archival Ink-Jet Prints on eco-friendly Yoga mats, dimensions variable, courtesy of the artist 

Clifton Cultural Arts Center

3711 Clifton Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45220   

(513) 497-2860
October 16–October 28
Monday 10 am–5 pm
Thursday 12 pm–7 pm
Saturday 9 am–1 pm
and by appointment


October 13–October 14
October 16–October 28

Awards Ceremony/Exhibition Reception 
Saturday October 13, 4 pm–9 pm
Awards Ceremony   
Saturday October 13, 5:30 pm

Cosby Linquist, Columbus College of Art and Design (Columbus, OH)
Jacob Koestler, Ohio University (Athens, OH) 

Marcus Morris, Columbus College of Art and Design (Columbus, OH) 
Honarable Mention: Lian Dziura, Columbus College of Art and Design (Columbus, OH) 

THUNDERDOME, a survey of the broad landscape of contemporary photographic tradition, and potential bellwether for future trends in contemporary photography, presents the most promising work from students and alumni from nine area colleges and universities. Sharing a broad vision of both present and future possibilities for photography in the Ohio Valley, faculty members from each participating university present works from their undergraduate and graduate programs. 

Organized by University of Cincinnati Professor Jordan Tate, this juried invitational exhibition features several public viewings. On October 13, the opening day, each of the selected students and alumni show abridged exhibitions of their work, displayed throughout the three floors of the Clifton Cultural Art Center. Jurors and FOTOFOCUS Co-Chairs James Crump and Raphaela Platow review all exhibited work, selecting three outstanding photographers. These three finalists are honored in an awards ceremony held at the end of the opening day. Exhibition of all student work remains on view through the next day, October 14. Prizewinner’s pieces continue on display October 16 through October 27 in the first floor gallery space.

The participants:
University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH) Faculty: Jane Alden Stevens, Jordan Tate
Students: Erica Esham, Wyatt Niehaus, Anjali Alm-Basu, Heather Silverman, Megan Kelley
Miami University (
Oxford, OH) Faculty: Jon Yamashiro
Students: Alicia Moreland, Alexander Newman, Meaghan Wylly
Art Academy of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH) Faculty: Emily Hanako Momohara
Students: Sarah Baker, Brittany Justice, Shannon Gwinn, John Sloan, Billy Golden
University of Dayton (Dayton, OH) Faculty: Joel Whitaker, Francis Schanberger, Glenna Jennings, Sean Wilkinson
Students: Mark Albain, Krista Walker, Darlin Blanco
Ohio University (Athens, OH) Faculty: Laura Larson , Ray Klimek
Students: Rebecca Holbrook, Jackie McGilvray, Carlos Pacheco, Jacob Koestler
Wright State University (Dayton, OH)  Faculty: Tracy Longley-Cook, Benjamin Montague
Students: Ben Branham, Allison Calafaty, Erin Schimpf, Stephanie Zack, Elyssa Steffenson
Columbus College of Art and Design (Columbus, OH)  Faculty: Duncan Snyder, Helen Hoffelt, Shannon Benine, John Fergus-Jean, Hiroshi Hayakowa, Ric Petry
Students: Cosby Linquist, Crystal Tursich, Marcus Morris, Lian Dziura, Henry Scott
Shawnee State (Portsmouth, OH) Faculty: Allyson Klutenkamper
Students: Nikki Taylor, Kylea Taylor, Chelsea Tackett, Janine Grey
Northern Kentucky University (Highland Heights, KY) Faculty: Barbara Houghton, Barry Andersen
Students: Jesse Fox, Lindsay Clayton, Dylan Bauer, Sara Kirchner
Wittenberg University (Springfield, OH) Faculty: 
Daniel J. McInnis
Students: Carey Keny, Martin Lukk, Ashley Berg, Lauren Houser, Katherine Causbie, Eileen Collins

Established in the fusion of two historic buildings, the 1906 Clifton School and the adjacent McDonald Estate Carriage House, the Clifton Cultural Arts Center spans 57,000 square feet of preserved multi-venue space. First imagined in 2004 in a series of community engagement meetings, the CCAC strives to foster community participation in cultural and artistic activities in an incomparable urban campus.